2021 Awardees

The theme for the inaugural Gold Art Prize is: The Future. Our focus is on contemporary emerging or mid-career artists for whom the exposure and cash prize would make a significant impact at this moment in their career. The artists must have had a solo exhibition or project at an arts institution (i.e. museum, collecting or non-collecting). It was also important to us that our awardees reflect diversity in practice, gender, ethnicity, and other critical identities that represent the vast API diaspora.

We are very proud to present the five 2021 awardees: Jes Fan, Maia Ruth Lee, Candice Lin, Moved by the Motion and Miljohn Ruperto. These artists, whose conceptually-driven practices span video, sculpture, performance and installation, center questions of identity and histories. They were selected through a rigorous process involving our outstanding nomination and selection committees.

2021 Finalists

Jaishri Abichandani, Kelly Akashi, Patty Chang, Tiffany Chung, Daniel Chew, Jesse Chun, Shaghayegh Cyrous, Chaw Ei Thein, Brendan Fernandes, Chitra Ganesh, Oto Gillen, Jacqueline Kiyomi Gork, Glenn Kaino, Cindy Ji Hye Kim, Josh Kline, Maggie Lee, Summer Meiling Lee, Beili Liu, Michelle Lopez, Shahryar Nashat, Tuan Andrew Nguyen, Jade Kuriki Olivo, Aki Sasamoto, Sin Wai Kin, Kenneth Tam, Evelyn Taocheng Wang, Cici Wu