top of page

The theme for the inaugural Gold Art Prize was: The Future. Our focus is on contemporary emerging or mid-career artists for whom the exposure and cash prize would make a significant impact at this moment in their career. The artists must have had a solo exhibition or project at an arts institution (i.e. museum, collecting or non-collecting). It was also important to us that our awardees reflect diversity in practice, gender, ethnicity, and other critical identities that represent the vast API diaspora.

We are very proud to present the five 2021 awardees: Jes Fan, Maia Ruth Lee, Candice Lin, Moved by the Motion and Miljohn Ruperto. These artists, whose conceptually-driven practices span video, sculpture, performance and installation, center questions of identity and histories. They were selected through a rigorous process involving our outstanding nomination and selection committees.

2021 Finalists

Jaishri Abichandani, Kelly Akashi, Patty Chang, Tiffany Chung, Daniel Chew, Jesse Chun, Shaghayegh Cyrous, Chaw Ei Thein, Brendan Fernandes, Chitra Ganesh, Oto Gillen, Jacqueline Kiyomi Gork, Glenn Kaino, Cindy Ji Hye Kim, Josh Kline, Maggie Lee, Summer Meiling Lee, Beili Liu, Michelle Lopez, Shahryar Nashat, Tuan Andrew Nguyen, Jade Kuriki Olivo, Aki Sasamoto, Sin Wai Kin, Kenneth Tam, Evelyn Taocheng Wang, Cici Wu

2021 Nominating Committee

Aleesa Pitchamarn Alexander

Assistant Curator of American Art at the Cantor Arts Center at Stanford University and Co-Director of the Asian American Art Initiative

Abby Chen

Head of Contemporary Art, Asian Art Museum

Christine Y. Kim

Curator of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art

Christopher Y. Lew

Nancy and Fred Poses Curator, Whitney Museum of American Art

Sohrab Mohebbi

Curator of the Carnegie International’s 58th edition

Daisy Nam

Director, Ballroom Marfa

Anuradha Vikram

Independent writer, curator and educator based in Los Angeles

X Zhu-Nowell

Assistant Curator, Guggenheim

2021 Selection Committee

Angelo Chan

Asian Art Circle and Collection’s Council, Guggenheim Museum

Gemma Chan

Actress, Producer, Activist

Lorin Gu

Founder, Recharge Foundation

Prabal Gurung

Fashion Designer, Prabal Gurung

Cathy Park Hong

New York Times bestselling author

Padma Lakshmi

Author, Host, & Executive Producer

Miyoung Lee

Vice Chair, Board of the Whitney Museum of American Art

Dennis Lim

Director of Programming, The Film Society of Lincoln Center

Phillip Lim

Fashion Designer, 3.1 Phillip Lim

Komal Shah

Board of Trustees, SFMOMA

Akiko Yamazaki

Chair of the Board, Asian Art Museum

Lead underwriting support for the 2021 Gold Art Prize was generously provided by Wayee Chu and Ethan Beard, Heather and Eric Green, Puja and Samir Kaul, 100 Tonson Foundation, and Sonya Yu. Underwriting for the catalogue was provided by Tanatip Arunanondchai, Angelo Chan, Harry Hu, Miyoung Lee, and Jenny and Gerald Risk.

2021 Gold Art Prize Sponsors

bottom of page